In 2006, the Centre Pompidou founded the Institute for Research and Innovation on initiative of the philosopher Bernard Stiegler. The institute has been created as part of the Centre Pompidou to anticipate, accompany and analyze the transformation of cultural practices enabled by digital technologies, and sometimes even to contribute to their very emergence.

In August 2008, the IRI attained the status of an independent research association whose administrative board members are the Centre Pompidou, the Centre for Contemporary Culture in Barcelona, Microsoft France, the Goldsmiths College – University of London, the University of Tokyo, the Institut Telecom, the ENSCI, the Alcatel Bell Labs and France Télévisions. The Strate Collège Designer and the Art School of Beads are research associates.

The IRI primarily explores the field of digital studies, in the sense of a new « organology of knowledge » appearing with the digital, which requires specific studies and concepts, and which shifts the whole contemporary episteme (as defined by Michel Foucault). More precisely, the institute investigates the field of cultural and cognitive technologies from a digital humanities point of view, which  at the IRI is considered to be a specific sector of digital studies. The IRI thus aims at participating in the development of new forms, devices and technologies: to address the public, to facilitate contributions and collaborative criticism; to provide solutions for editorial and interconnectivity in the domains of culture and knowledge. To achieve this, the IRI will both theorize and formalize the relevant technologies and the social practices they induce, as well as develop cultural and scientific applications, especially in and around the museal domain, but also more generally as technologies for amateurs.

The research program of the IRI illustrates the objects of the current theoretical and technological research:

●        Ecology of attention
●        Figures of the amateur
●        Design of the new industrial world
●        Philosophy and Web Engineering and meta data
●        Relational technologies, social networks and tools of transindividuation
●        Mobility and motivity in cultural practices.

Next Events


Calendar iCalendar

December 2014
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031EC

Lignes de Temps


Actualités



Networks   :
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Delicous
  • FlickR
  • FlickR

En 2006, le Centre Pompidou, sous l’impulsion du philosophe Bernard Stiegler, a créé en son sein l’Institut de recherche et d’innovation pour anticiper, accompagner, et analyser les mutations des pratiques culturelles permises par les technologies numériques, et pour contribuer parfois à les faire émerger.

En août 2008, l’Iri a acquis un statut d’association de recherche autonome dont les membres administrateurs sont le Centre Pompidou, le Centre de Culture Contemporaine de Barcelone, Microsoft France, le Goldsmiths College de l’université de Londres, l’Université de Tokyo, l’Institut Mines-Telecom, l’ENSCI, Alcatel Bell Labs et France Télévisions. Le Strate Collège Designer et l’Ecole d’Art des Rocailles et Ars Industrialis sont également membres de l’association.

L’IRI explore en premier lieu le champ des digital studies, au sens où une nouvelle “organologie des savoirs” apparaît avec le numérique, qui requiert des concepts et des études spécifiques, et qui bouleversent l’ensemble de l’épistémè contemporaine, au sens où Michel Foucault entendait ce mot. Et il investigue plus précisément le champ des technologies culturelles et cognitives du point de vue des digital humanities,qui sont appréhendées ici comme un secteur spécifique des digital studies. L’Iri a pour ambition de participer ainsi à l’élaboration de nouvelles formes d’adresse au public et de contribution, de dispositifs critiques collaboratifs et de technologies éditoriales et relationnelles dans les domaines de la culture et des savoirs, à la fois en théorisant et en formalisant les technologies concernées et les pratiques sociales qu’elles suscitent, et en développant les applications culturelles et scientifiques, notamment dans le domaine muséal et plus généralement comme technologies destinées aux amateurs.

Le programme de recherche de l’Iri articule des objets de recherche théoriques et technologiques:

  • Écologie de l’attention
  • Figures de l’amateur
  • Organologie de l’indexation du Web et des métadonnées
  • Technologies collaboratives, éditorialisation et outils de transindividuation
  • Sensori-motricité et mobilité dans les pratiques culturelles instrumentées.

Prochains événements


Agenda iCalendar

août 2014
lun mar mer jeu ven sam dim
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Lignes de Temps


Actualités



Réseaux   :
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Delicous
  • FlickR
  • FlickR